Las Meninas “3D”

Hi again, dear friends.

Before anything else, wanted to tell you that I  have, at last, been assigned to the University I wanted to study at ^^ So late this year I’ll be moving to Barcelona. But don’t worry, I hope to be able to write and read WordPress blogs from there,  through my laptop!  All I’m going to need is some Internet connexion lol.

Well, some months ago I made a trip to the south of Spain, as you may remember (Málaga).  In the hotel I stayed, there was a kind of exposition of beautiful sculptures.  I approached them just to take a look, and suddenly, I realised that the sculptures were a representation of the “Meninas” painting.

Las Meninas is the title of a well-known Spaniard painting, by Diego Velázquez.  Actually, it is a protuguese word which means something like “little girls”, but the spanish author used it for giving his piece of art a name, in reference to the little girls in the picture. By the way, the author himself can be seen in the left side of the picture (The guy who’s painting, with the red cross of Santiago on his dress)

Velázquez  plays with the light effect all over the drawing, illuminating some zones of the pictures and others not. Another thing which is also special and amazing, is the tri-dimensionality of the picture. You can easily distinguish all the elements in it,  like you are looking through a window.

The original painting (also called “La familia de Felipe“) can be seen and contemplated at “El Museo del Prado” (Madrid), but I’ll show you a picture so that you can get an idea about how it looks.

“Las Meninas”, the best Velazquez’s painting

Below, I’m showing you some pictures that I took about the sculptures. Every single “Menina’s sculpture” costs from 700€ to 2000 €, a lil bit expensive under my view ^^.  Which one is your favourite?

EXTRA ONE : (Nothing to do with Meninas but still is a funny one ^^)

I hope you liked the pictures! I forgot to share my pics about Malaga’s beach and Il Divo’s concert in at Palau Sant jordi (Barcelona) so I think I’ll make another post about both, that I’m sure you’ll really enjoy 🙂
Happy Summer to everyone!

Javi

Comments
5 Responses to “Las Meninas “3D””
  1. Fiona.q says:

    within the shots you took, i like the one with blue rose best. and great congrats, then you go to the one you want to go to. miss Barcelona.

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Thanks Fiona, and yes, I’ve been lucky enough to go study where I wanted 🙂

      Now I cannot fail! 😛 I’m sure I won’t!

      You should come back Bto Barcelona, is an amazing city, yet no so spectacular as New York or Paris could be, but still has some..magic 🙂

      • Fiona.q says:

        i have not been to NY, but Barcelona is definitely better than Paris in my eyes. no doubt 😉

  2. Congrats my Friend, It’s good to see that all your hard work paid off!
    Love the way you captured the detail of the art work.

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Thank you so much Michael! I really liked them when I saw them all along the corridor so I decided to take some shots.

      I’ve been so absent from wordpress lately… you know, summer means to kinda disconnect of all the electric stuff lol.

      I’ll check again your wonderful pictures once I’m back in September my friend 🙂 I can’t wait to see what new post you’ve posted!

Leave a Reply

  • tytyty

    tytyty
