Holy Week in Spain I (Málaga)

Hi again, dear bloggers and readers!

Almost 20 days have passed by since I last wrote something up here, way too much! I’ve had my reasons though, since I’ve been busy with my studies again and I went to Málaga (Southern Spain) for a week. This is what I wanted to talk you about today 🙂

The past Easter or Holy Week (Semana Santa) we went to Málaga, in the region of Andalucía. I’d always wanted to go there during the Easter for as witnessing everything they do by this time is something of unique and special.  The streets are crowded by thousands of people and there is a parade in every single street, giving to the city  a joyful ambience.

There, the lifelike wooden or plaster sculptures are called “tronos” and they are carried through the main streets by penitents dressed in long colorful robes, with pointed hats in their heads, who are followed by a music band playing the drums, trumpets, cornets, etc. These “pasos” and “tronos” are physically carried on the necks of the penitents and other volunteers, and it is really impressive to see them carry the thrones along the streets ( taking into consideration that they are very weighty) just stopping for taking a little breath. Take a look to my shots!

As you can see in the pictures above, every throne is amazingly decorated in great detail. On every throne there is a figure or sculpture related with the catholic religion, such as a Christ, Holy Mary, Angels and some scenes of the Holy Bible. Also, impressively detailed as if they were real persons…just stunning! I also have to say that I’m quite bad making shots at night so forgive me the blurry pictures lol!

Here are the “pointy hatted” people who I told you about, carrying big candles.  I remember the little children came near these pointy hats with a short stick, and they asked the pointy guys to spill on their sticks the molten  wax to make little balls of wax. On the other hand, the streets and roads were covered of white and red fallen wax, and that was the cause of the weird noise produced by the car’s pneumatics in contact with that wax.

I made a pair of shots to the band that followed the next parade. This time yes I used the flash ^^

I saw around fifteen different parades in the same day ( and I’m sure that I missed many others), and some other thrones just couldn’t get out of their churches because of the rainy forecast. However, we were so so lucky that it almost didn’t rain in the whole week! Cities such as Seville, Córdoba or Zamora had to cancel many “throne parades” because of the bad weather and cloudy sky.

At the end of the journey, we went to take some “Tapas” in order to relax and rest after the loooong walk we had. Tapas is a spanish word, which refers to kind of little piece of a type of food, often on a piece of bread or a toast. They are not a starter, because the funny thing is that you can taste many kinds of food in the same lunch and, after eating 15 tapas, lunch is over! People use to eat them standing up without sitting.

To sum up, it was a fantastic week that I wish I can repeat next year. If you ever get the chance to go there by this time, don’t doubt it! go!

I took hundreds of pictures, so I think I will show you one more parade, the Spanish Legion parade (army), a little bit of the city and its cathedral and finally the port of Málaga and its beach…. all of this in the upcoming posts ^^!

See you guys! Hope you enjoyed it!

Comments
25 Responses to “Holy Week in Spain I (Málaga)”
  1. James says:

    Gracias por compartir tus fotos de las procesiones – no puedo imaginar el peso de aquellos tronos! Creo que estaba lloviendo en muchas ciudades (como Salamanca) el año pasado, no?

  2. Bama says:

    Hey Javi! It’s been quite a while since the last time you wrote, indeed. I just love how countries around the world (especially predominantly Catholics) celebrate semana santa. So colorful and lively! I can imagine how the atmoshere feels like when seeing it myself.

  3. Fiona.q says:

    it looks very nice. i havent been to anywhere during Easter, but a nice woods just outside my apartment 😀

  4. Fiona.q says:

    leave me a mail address or skype id?

  5. A J says:

    It’s a very informative article, thanks for sharing. I like shot of hanging utensils on the roof. Which place is this?

  6. Wow! Beautiful photos, Javi! There are many Spanish customs that I know nothing about so I feel like you’re educating me. 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well, my friend!

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Hi Christy! I just read your post about break-ups ( as funny as always), but I don’t know why my stupid computer does not allow me to comment, it just doesn’t work…maybe is an internet fail. In few hours I’ll try it again ¬¬

      Well, I’m sure that you would enjoy many of our customs or traditions, you should come here for a visit if you ever have the chance 🙂

  7. Hey my Friend, nice shots I really need to get to Spain.

Leave a Reply

  • tytyty

    tytyty
