Visiting the North of my country…

Hi there, people! How have you all been doing? Hope well!

As you may have noticed, I’ve been really busy since the New Year 2012 began. I just had time to make a single and short post to wish you a happy new year and had to leave from WordPress a few days. But now, I’m back again 🙂

Well, I told you that I was going to create another post about that trip I made not long ago to the North of my country, Spain. Concretely, I visited the Basque country,  San Sebastián (Donostia). It is a stunning city bathed by the Cantabrian Sea or Mar Cantábrico. There, the weather is rainy and gloomy nearly all the time, but there are also colorful sunny days. In fact, it is one of the most rainy cities in the country. However, San Sebastián is the city where the queenliness used to take summer vacation.

Unfortunately, we couldn’t enjoy of a sunshiny day, but rainy days are also worth seeing. Below, I will share with you the pictures I captured there. I hope you like them!

This is La Catedral del Buen Pastor, 75 meters. The building is a neo-gothic temple, inspired in the Cathedral of Cologne. The contrast with the blurred day make this capture even better. In the next pictures I’m showing the beach of “La Concha“.  people use to practise many sports in these waters, such as surfing, pirogue, kayak,sailing…

Amazing sea landscapes! I remember being sat on a bench while I was observing calmly the infinite horizon…unforgettable.

I can’t tell! I did not check the temperature of the water, but I can figure out that it was not warm at all. Nonetheless, this wasn’t an impediment for those who wanted to take their COLD swimming, as you can see in one of the pictures. In the next one, can you see the guys that are practicing kayak or pirogue? I had to make a great zoom in order to get them “fairly clear” in the picture, that’s why it is a little bit fuzzy.

Imagine the sight you can get from the left house. I wouldn’t say no to a breakfast invite there 😛

When I saw this seagull, the movement was immediate: I said “You are mine!”” and SHOT! A Perfect capture was the result 😀 I thought it would be partially effaced because of the fast movement, but luckily not. Petrified by my camera!

In this picture, a “street view” of San Sebastián is shown. The narrow and crowded streets (partially Christmas themed) were full-up of restaurants, typical taverns, cafe, pub… I had the opportunity of eating in a few bars and taverns where they were serving the famous “Pinchos” or “Pintxos” (ch or tx= utterand of CHocolate or CHarlie), a kind of snack eaten in bars in the north of Spain. People eat them with a piece of bread, and the result is more than delicious, very tasty. So tasty, that I completely forgot to take a shot…!

This golden building is the San Sebastian’s city hall. I find this really elegant and majestic. But remember, that this city has a population of over 200.000″only” , and this building is worthy of a big city of more than 500 thousand people I think. At least, much more beautiful than my city’s one 😛

Oh my…that balcony ruined my picture! Well, this is The Basilic of Saint Mary or Basílica de Santa María. This barroc building is completely decorated  by sculptures carved in the hard stone.

So here ended my trip to the North of my country, after going to Zaragoza. What did you like the most? Do you feel like visiting these landscapes and seas?

See you soon,

Javier.

Comments
23 Responses to “Visiting the North of my country…”
  1. You have managed to shoot some amazing architecture. I just LOVE these photos.. your eye for a great photo is definitely evolving 🙂

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Thanks Kay, I’m glad you liked the pictures!

      Yeah, the more pictures I take, the more evolved becomes my eye 😀 As the new camera will have to wait, I’ll have to manage with mine’s by now :/

      But well, step by step 😛

      Have a nice Friday :)!

  2. Iñigo says:

    That place is very beautiful!
    The photographs are breath-taking!
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Fiona.q says:

    the “street view” of San Sebastián reminds me of the city centre in Madrid 😉

  4. Javi&Palace says:

    They have something of similar yes 🙂 The difference is that the advert placards are written in basque , and you can find weird names there, but funny as well!

  5. Kim says:

    I know how it feels to be a busy bee 😦

  6. You live in such a beautiful country, Javi! Loved these photos! 🙂

  7. Javi&Palace says:

    Thank you 🙂 The curious thing about my country is that, even if it is quite smaller than the huge (and extremely precious) Canada, it has many different geography all over the country.

    I hope one day, I can visit your country and make a post about it :)!

    Have a nice week!

  8. jdlarkin says:

    Beautiful! We are planning to visit Spain and Portugal soon. Not sure when and we want to visit both countries so I was thinking southern Spain, but these pictures are so beautiful that I might need to visit the north! Great pictures!

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Really? That’s great, I’m sure you will love the southern Spain. Guess you are thinking in Seville, Granada, and other southern cities.

      The north is really amazing, but coming from the UK, I think that you would probably like even more the contrast with the south 🙂

      Let me know, when you know what are you going to visit 🙂

  9. jdlarkin says:

    Also I meant to say how great it is that you are blogging in English! I am trying to learn Spanish and it would help if I blogged in Spanish, Im just not sure anyone would read it! Instead I am reading Harry Potter and singing children’s songs. Good for you though!

    • Javi&Palace says:

      It would be apleasure to help you with my language if you want so 🙂

      And yes, blogging in english is something of funny. Firstly, because you improve this language and secondly, because you can meet so many people! Also reading the others blogs helps me to learn more and more english.

      But sometimes I can make some mistakes, of course 😛
      You should give a try to your spanish, here you are a guy who would read every one of your Spanish posts :)!!

  10. Bama says:

    Oh boy, now I miss Europe so much. I haven’t been to Spain though. But it’s high on my radar!

  11. Javi&Palace says:

    Oh, you should come here my friend! A traveller like you would love this 🙂

  12. Sony Fugaban says:

    The first pic is so majestic. I couldn’t help noticing it. I feel like I’m in the medieval times upon looking at the photos of the cathedral.

  13. eva626 says:

    im loving the architecture of all the buildings….loved the photos!

  14. Sonny Hendrawan Saputra says:

    Those architectures look more magnificent through your photos! looking forward to see your other post related to the heritage buildings or historical spots in the places you visit, Gracias!

Leave a Reply

  • tytyty

    tytyty
