Hans Zimmer, when music becomes an art…

A long time has passed since I last posted, I know (more than a week!). I’m sorry, I’ve been kind of busy these last days so I couldn’t neither write on my blog nor read other blog’s that I use to read always that I can ( about 15 blogs). From now on I’ll need to keep myself updated I guess!

As I told you before, I did mean to write about Hans Zimmer in my “music month”,  it is just that I hadn’t the opportunity. So today, I’ll do so, ending definitively with this long music month.

Hans Zimmer

Well, Zimmer is an amazing german film composer and music producer (born 1957). He’s extremely distinguished for creating and making the original soundtrack of films such as: Gladiator, The Lion King, Batman Dark Knight, Last Samurai, The Rock, King Arthur, Pearl Harbor, The Thin Red Line, Pirates of the Caribbean or even the famous video game Call of duty: Modern Warfare 2.

People use to define his music as something “epic”,  “ethereal” or even “fictitious”. They say he does not produce soundtracks for movies, the movies are produced to his soundtracks.

I guess he actually has a special gift for composing music. What is really fascinating is the way that his music suits on every film he composed for. What’s more, he is able to achieve that his music becomes the ideal identifier or icon of the film in point. When you listen to one of his soundtracks, you immediately say “Hey, this song reminds me of (the name of the film)”.

Last Samurai (Tom Cruise)

If you are interested, you should check him on YouTube or other websites where you can easily find many of his compositions. Nonetheless, I won’t leave you wanting more, so here you are a video where you can appreciate a fragment of his music. Tell me what you think about it. ( A piece of the soundtrack of Pirates of the Caribbean. The best begins in 1:00 ;))

(I’d also love to make a month of cinema, and show my top 10 favourite films in 10 brief posts. I’ll work on it if time allows me to do so :P)

Comments
12 Responses to “Hans Zimmer, when music becomes an art…”
  1. Fiona.q says:

    very looking forward to your posts about film. i have a list of top7 films in my heart, of course many other films are great… just let me see how many in your top 10 are the same as mine, lol.

  2. “…he does not produce soundtracks for movies, the movies are produced to his soundtracks.” ~Yes yes yes! Hans Zimmer is AMAZING!!

    Excellent post, Javi! 😀

    • Javi&Palace says:

      I’m glad that you like him too, he’s great on what he does yeah 🙂

      That phrase I found it on a youtube Hans Zimmer video, and it made me laugh so I wanted to write it in this post as well 😛

      Have a nice day Christy!

  3. I loved his work on The Lion King but I didn’t know about his work with other movies. Thanks for pointing this info out to me. Wonderful post Javi

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Thanks to you for visiting, Baby 😉

      So yes, as you can see, he’s made lots of other soundtracks for famous films. You should check more of his songs, I’m sure you would enjoy them as much as I’ve enjoyed them 🙂

      Hope to see you soon! 🙂

  4. Han’s is truly a rare talent!
    And don’t worry about posting, we understand that your education comes first!

  5. Javi&Palace says:

    Thanks for understanding michael.

    In fact, I’d really love to post day after day…writing in anotehr language is lovely and ejoyable…and reading whatever you post it is too… but, unfortunately, sometimes I must forget my blog a few days :S

    See you soon my friend!

  6. Koneko says:

    You forgot one: Spirit, Stallion of the Cinarron.
    Its a cartoon about a wild horse, and it’s the movie I will love till the world ends – partly because of the soundtrack, by Hans Zimmer (and sung by Bryan Adams).

    I just LOVE this post, great work, Javier :))
    Neko

    • Javi&Palace says:

      Hi Koneko! It’s nice to see you by there 🙂

      Oh, I didn’t watch this film yet. Maybe I’ll give it a try 😀

      The Prince of Egypt and The Lion King are cartoon as well, and its soundtracks were made by him 🙂

  7. Kim says:

    He has some amazing stuff! I do also have one soundtrack 😀

  8. Javi&Palace says:

    More than some amazing stuff 😛

    And he’s german, like you, do you appreciate him more for that? 🙂

    See you soon!

Leave a Reply

  • tytyty

    tytyty
